2019 Healthcare Scholarship Recipients Announced

June 10, 2019
NORTH CONWAY, NH – Students studying pre-med, mental health, biomedical engineering & science, healthcare administration, nursing, and physical therapy were the recipients of scholarships from Memorial Hospital’s annual scholarship fund. This includes the Memorial Hospital Scholarship; the Memorial Hospital Volunteers Scholarship Program, Memorial Hospital Volunteers Healthcare Studies Scholarship, and the Visiting Nurse Home Care and Hospice of Carroll County (VNHCH) Kathleen Sheehan Memorial Award. The hospital’s scholarship awards are designed to support students in our community pursuing careers in health-related fields.

The Scholarship program specifically seeks to assist those students within the hospital’s service area (towns served by SAU 9, SAU 13 and MSAD 72) who have already demonstrated the successful completion of part of a higher education degree. Adult learners returning to school, changing careers or seeking additional education are encouraged to apply. Students must be accepted into an accredited course of study in a health-related field on at least a half-time basis, and demonstrate successful completion of some earlier portion of their program of study. Each scholarship has its own criteria and interested students are encouraged to view the application online for specifics.

The scholarships were presented to the students at a May 23 awards ceremony at the hospital. Mary DeVeau, Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees Chair, and fellow Trustees - Bob Irwin, Michelle O’Donnell, and Corinne Ray, welcomed the students and their families and congratulated them on their achievements. The scholarships and recipients were as follows:

Memorial Hospital Scholarships – The criteria for the Memorial Hospital Scholarship is a high school senior going into a health related field or college student in a health related field. The student must be from SAU 9, SAU 13, of SAD 72. They can also be a son, daughter or, grandson/daughter of an employee or a Memorial Hospital volunteer. Memorial Hospital employees who are attending college in a health related field are also eligible.

Awarded to:
Heather Phillips, Conway, NH
Paige Lautenschlager, Silver Lake, NH
Elizabeth Hockmuth, Conway, NH
Jordanna Belle-Isle, Center Conway, NH

Kathleen Sheehan Memorial Award – Must be currently enrolled in college studying nursing. Must reside in Carroll County, NH or Western Maine. Presented by the Visiting Nurse Home Care & Hospice of Carroll County.

Awarded to:
Stephen Michael Jones, Freedom, NH

Memorial Hospital Volunteers Scholarship Program – Must be an employee or a Memorial Hospital volunteer, or the relative of an employee of Memorial Hospital or Memorial Hospital volunteer who is pursuing health related studies and attends college full time.

Awarded to:
Janelle Wilson, Center Conway, NH
Faye Taylor, Brownfield, ME
Kristina LeBlanc, Fryeburg, ME
Jodi Witt, Conway, NH
Alexa Gutowski, Conway, NH

Memorial Hospital Volunteer Healthcare Studies Scholarship – Must be a Kennett High School graduating senior pursuing healthcare studies.

Awarded to:
Noah Geary, North Conway, NH

To become a volunteer at Memorial Hospital, contact Peter Waugh, Volunteer Coordinator, at 603-356-5461 or pwaugh@memorialhospitalnh.org.