Memorial Hospital Announces Healthcare Scholarships

June 07, 2020

Media Contact: Megan Penny / 603-356-5461 /

NORTH CONWAY, NH – Students studying biology, human development, osteopathic medicine, nursing and athletic training are among the recipients of scholarships from Memorial Hospital’s annual scholarship funds. This includes the Memorial Hospital Scholarship, the Memorial Hospital Volunteers Scholarship Program, Memorial Hospital Volunteers Healthcare Studies Scholarship, the Visiting Nurse Home Care and Hospice of Carroll County (VNHCH) Kathleen Sheehan Memorial Award and the Miranda Leavitt Diabetes Scholarship. The scholarship awards support students in the community pursuing careers in health-related fields.

The scholarship programs assist students within the hospital’s service area, towns served by SAU 9, SAU 13 and MSAD 72. Adults returning to school, changing careers or seeking additional education may also apply. Applicants must be accepted into an accredited course of study in a health-related field on at least a half-time basis, and provide transcripts to show successful completion of past academics. Each scholarship has its own criteria that students must meet to apply.

Typically, Memorial Hospital staff, volunteers and members of the Board of Trustees present the awards to students at a ceremony. However, due to COVID-19, scholarships could not be awarded in person. Students were notified of their awards via email, and recognized with photos in Memorial’s Employee Newsletter.

The scholarships and recipients were as follows:

Memorial Hospital Scholarships – The criteria for the Memorial Hospital Scholarship is a high school senior going into a health related field or college student in a health related field. The student must be from SAU 9, SAU 13, or MSAD 72. They can also be a son, daughter or, grandson/daughter of an employee or a Memorial Hospital volunteer. Memorial Hospital employees who are attending college in a health related field are also eligible.

Awarded to:

  • Hannah Frittenburg, Intervale, NH
  • Zachary Sevigny, Conway, NH
  • Rachel Hanson, Freedom, NH
  • Sophie Stimpson, Intervale, NH

Kathleen Sheehan Memorial Award – Must be currently enrolled in college studying nursing. Must reside in Carroll County, NH, or Western Maine. Presented by the Visiting Nurse Home Care & Hospice of Carroll County.

Awarded to:

  • Regine Chapman, Jackson, NH

Memorial Hospital Volunteers Scholarship Program – Must be an employee or a Memorial Hospital volunteer, or the relative of an employee of Memorial Hospital or Memorial Hospital volunteer who is pursuing health related studies and attends college full time.

Awarded to:

  • Malik Anthony Kariuki Memia, Center Conway, NH
  • Nadia Van Dyne, Albany, NH
  • Mia Valeriani, Glen, NH
  • Caroline Jaeger, Berlin NH

Memorial Hospital Volunteer Healthcare Studies Scholarship – Must be a Kennett High School graduating senior pursuing healthcare studies.

Awarded to:

  • Faith Downing, Madison, NH

Miranda Leavitt Diabetes Scholarship - Awarded to a student residing in Carroll County or Western Maine who either has type 1 or type 2 diabetes; or who is currently enrolled full-time in college and pursuing studies related to healthcare, nutrition, exercise physiology or health education.

Awarded to:

  • Madison McIntyre, Bridgton, ME

Scholarship applications for 2021 will be available early next winter. For more information, visit