Local Board

Western Maine Health Local Board

At their annual meeting on October 24, 2018, the Corporators of MaineHealth gave their approval to a plan to unify our Maine-based local health systems under a single Board of Trustees effective January 1, 2019.  Unification puts the strength of the entire MaineHealth system behind our efforts in each and every community to ensure the delivery of integrated, high-quality, well-coordinated care.

A key tenet of the unification plan is maintaining Local Boards that will oversee the care delivered in our communities and provide local input into decision-making. Local Boards are organized as committees of the MaineHealth Board and have an important role in our community, participating in quality oversight, oversight of local medical staffs, planning, budgeting and the hiring of key executives, local fundraising initiatives, among other duties.


The following individuals have been elected to the Western Maine Health Board:

Chairman, Tom Morton
Vice Chairman, Gene Benner
Secretary, Kevin Carleton
Lance Bean
Holly Bancroft Brown
Kevin Carleton
Todd Gauger, DVM
Ryan Knapp, MD
Kathleen Herlihy, MD
Lisa Miller, MD
H. Sawin Millett, Jr.
Ted Moccia
Brian Nolan, MD
Jack Sours
Patricia Weigel
Marc West

Ex-Officio with Vote

Timothy A. Churchill, President Western Maine Health
Kathleen Herlihy MD, Medical Staff President

Ex-Officio without Vote

William L. Caron, Jr., CEO MaineHealth
Al Swallow, EVP and Treasurer MaineHealth
Jennifer Sunday, DO, Medical Staff President-Elect

Latest News

View All